The best cookies ever?

By now, you should know that David is a savoury/salty sort of guy.  He does, however,  have a weakness for chocolate chip cookies.  But not any old chocolate chip cookies will do.  He likes ones that are a bit crispy on the outside, but soft on the inside.  I’ve tried many “fancy” recipes to appease him, but none of them have sufficed.  Not even Martha Stewart’s ultimate chocolate chip cookies.  Sorry Martha, but his favourite chocolate chip cookie recipe comes from the back of the Chipits packaging.

I have to admit, they are pretty good.

In fact, David likes them so much that he made the last two batches of cookies when I was too tired/lazy to do it myself.  Now, this is a tall order considering he’s never baked before and that when he cooks, he doesn’t like following recipes or measuring out ingredients.  His first batch turned out well even though we ran out of all-purpose flour and he had to use pastry/cake flour instead.

As you can see, they are a bit cake-like and on the soft side, but I thought they were still pretty good and enjoyed it with my coffee!

Luckily, this didn’t deter him from baking a second batch.  This time, we had all the ingredients and he even added chopped pecans.

And they were delicious!  The only problem (if you can call it that) is that they were all different sizes.

Otherwise, they would’ve been PERFECT!  And I bet the next time they will be.  I think we have a budding baker among us.

8 thoughts on “The best cookies ever?

  1. You know, they might be. Seen loads on wordpress recently. These just as good, if not better. Can’t tell until I’ve tried them I’ll send my address :P. Or maybe I could make them 😀

  2. .. Well now that I’m back .. I think it’s time you guys made these for me in trade of some good HK snacks? 🙂

  3. Pingback: Getaway muffins | trials in food

Leave a Reply

