A change for the better

Today’s post is written by the hubby.  It is about his thoughts on our new weekly routine, vegetarian day, and includes his recipe for Pad Thai.  I hope you enjoy his recipe as much as I do and I only wish my photos convey how delicious his Pad Thai really is.  And as always, he is too kind in his opinion of me – I am no saint. 

Yvonne

I’ve always considered Yvonne and me to be a well-balanced relationship.  She volunteers for a women’s shelter, she’s environmentally conscious, health conscious, frugal, organized, and diligent (just to list a few things).  I, on the other hand, don’t volunteer, drive a gas guzzler, love to eat fast foods, am an impulsive spender and have been known to be a little chaotic.  One of the keys to our successful marriage has been our ability to bring out the best in each other.  This has been evident in the meals that we eat day-in and day-out.  She will indulge in eating fatty fast foods on occasion with me, and I will try her new meal plans… the latest being “Vegetarian Day”.

That’s what we call it, although (technically), it’s not truly vegetarianism.  We “cheat” by eating seafood.  This was one idea that I actually didn’t protest when I heard.  I feel that as we age, we don’t need to intake as much red meats as when we were younger.  I welcomed the idea of having a vegetarian day one day of the week.  Here are my thoughts on this one month in…  Why didn’t we do this sooner?!  And maybe we’ll have vegetarian day twice a week.

This week, we had lunch at The Crab Shop in North Vancouver.  It’s not really a restaurant.  It’s a fresh seafood store that also prepares and sells fish and chips, crab sandwiches, and several other delicious dishes.  They have a few seats inside and it’s a quaint little place.   I ordered 2 pieces of Cod and chips with coleslaw.  Yvonne ordered a halibut cake burger.  Both were excellent!

For dinner that night I decided to make my Pad Thai.  I have avoided making this dish recently as I tend to struggle with making it.  Since we have travelled to Thailand, we know what good Pad Thai tastes like.  I have a hard time getting the noodles the right texture.  We actually took a cooking class in Thailand and our instructor taught us to soak the noodles in cold water for 30 minutes.  Some recipes call to cook the noodles in boiling water for 6-8 minutes.  I decided to add the noodles to boiling water and to quickly remove the pot from the heat and let them sit in the hot water for 5 minutes before straining the water.  The noodles still turned out a little too soft, but still pretty good.  Although it’s a hard dish to master, it’s very easy to make decent.  I hope you give it a try!

Ingredients

  • vegetable oil – 1 tablespoon
  • rice noodles – 1/2 pack
  • extra firm tofu – 1 pack cut into cubes
  • green onion – 2 stalks, chopped
  • prawn – 1/2 pound
  • bean sprouts – large handful
  • garlic – 1 clove minced
  • eggs – 2
  • soy sauce – 2 tablespoons
  • fish sauce – 2 tablespoons
  • Pad Thai sauce* – 2 tablespoons
  • Thai chilli sauce – 1 tablespoon
  • sugar – 1 teaspoon
  • lime – 1/2 for seasoning
  • peanuts – crushed into small pieces

*I use pre-made store-bought Pad Thai sauce for convenience, but we do have a recipe from our cooking class in Thailand if I someday feel inclined to make my own.

Instructions

1) Rinse bean sprouts in water to clean and de-shell the prawns.

2) Bring a pot of water to boil, add the noodles and remove from heat.  Let noodles soak in the hot water for 4 minutes, then strain and set aside.

3) Heat wok and add oil.

4) Put in the garlic and prawns and stir-fry.

5) Add Thai chilli sauce, remove prawns from wok when almost cooked.

6) Add more oil to the wok and put in the tofu.

7) Stir-fry until brown slightly (about 3 min) and push the tofu to one side of the wok.

8) Crack the eggs into clear side of the wok and scramble.

9) When the eggs are cooked, integrate with the tofu, and add the bean sprouts and prawns.

10) Add the noodles a handful at a time mixing everything together.

11) Add the Pad Thai sauce, soy sauce, fish sauce, sugar and green onion and stir up well until the noodles are all the same colour.

12) Plate the noodles, then add the crushed peanuts on top, add the lime wedges to the side, and enjoy!

7 thoughts on “A change for the better

  1. We love pad Thai, but have never made it at home, yours looks delicious! A friend made it for us once from scratch using tamarind and other ingredients that I can’t remember at the moment. That’s such a great idea to take a cooking class while in Thailand,

Leave a Reply

