St. Patrick’s Day Key Lime {Cup}cake

I got this recipe from my dear friend, who got it from her co-workers. In my opinion, this is the best kind of recipe – one that is tried and true and tested by many others. You know this will be good.

So what makes these goodies St. Paddy’s Day treats? They don’t contain Guinness stout, Irish whiskey or Baileys Irish cream. These are not Irish car bomb cupcakes. Nor do they contain corned beef and cabbage. Can you imagine if they did? What they do contain is boxed cake mix as a base. This was actually the first time I’ve used cake mix. No, I have not been living under a rock. Growing up, we simply did not eat a lot of cake. My mom did not bake. The cakes we had were for birthdays and tended to be store bought Chinese cakes or ice cream cakes. But I digress. These goodies also contain jello mix. Has anyone else used jello mix in baking? If so, maybe I have been living under a rock.

What really makes these cupcakes fit for St. Paddy’s Day is the colour. Perhaps it’s not exactly the right shade, but it’s in the same family.

You may be wondering why I made cupcakes and a cake. Simply put, I only have one cupcake tin and I had too much batter.

You may also be wondering what happened to this said cake. Well, let’s just say I’m not very good at decorating cakes. I spent an hour trying to frost the darn thing. It wasn’t perfect, but I’d had enough. Then I thought it needed some colour, so I added green dots all over (yes, I’m very creative). The dots looked boring, so in one fell swoop, I began to smear the green dots all over the cake. Can you say tie-dye? It was not a pretty sight. I don’t know what I was thinking. It was a moment of insanity. I did my best to try to even out the colour, but it could not be saved. Well, why don’t I let you be the judge?

Okay, enough of that. Now, feast your eyes on these cupcakes instead:

My friend was right. These were delicious! Very moist and delicate they crumble in your mouth (and hands). They are zesty, tangy and fresh….a reminder that spring is on its way. Now if only the weather would cooperate!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Recipe:

Makes 12 cupcakes and 1 8-in cake

Cake

  • ¾ cup of oil
  • ¾ cup of orange juice (no pulp) or pineapple orange juice
  • 1 box ((515g) of lemon cake mix
  • 5 eggs (I used 4 extra large)
  • 1 3oz box of lime jello
  • 5-6 tbsp confectionary sugar
  • ¼ cup lime juice

Frosting

  • 8 oz cream cheese (room temperature)
  • ½ stick butter (room temperature)
  • 1 tsp vanilla or lemon extract (I used ½ tsp of each)
  • confectionary sugar to taste (I used 5 tbsp)

Optional: nuts such as pecans or walnut

  1. Mix oil, juice, cake mix, jello and eggs.
  2. Pour batter into lined cupcake tins or cake pans.
  3. Bake at 325ºF degrees for 25-30 mins.
  4. In a small bowl, combine lime juice and confectionary sugar. Mix to dissolve sugar.
  5. When cupcake/cake is done (toothpick inserted in centre comes out clean), while it’s still hot prick all over with a toothpick and then pour lime and sugar mix over the holes (I used a pastry/basting brush to brush on two coats of the mixture).
  6. Let cool before frosting.
  7. To prepare frosting, mix frosting ingredients until homogenous. I had to double the frosting to have enough to frost all the cupcakes and the cake.
34 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day Key Lime {Cup}cake

  1. You may not be happy with your cake decorating but it screams St. Patrick’s Day to me. And your cupcakes are ever so pretty. I think a job well done.

  2. Wow, your cupcakes are absolutely gorgeous! I actually haven’t seen a lot of lime themed desserts for st. patrick’s day, so this is very refreshing. Key lime pie used to be one of my favorites deserts—homemade of course—since we were able to squeeze fresh key limes ourselves. This recipe definitely bring up the nostalgia.

  3. Too bad I didn’t find you a few days ago…but, key lime is good all summer long. So, I’ll find an occasion for these cupcakes yet. Thanks for visiting me. I hope you like the chicken – another tried and true recipe. ❤

  4. These look delicious, Yvonne! And they scream spring!! I had some Key Lime Sorbet last night at the local frozen yogurt shop. It’s one of my favorite flavors: nice and refreshing. I’m going to have to try these cupcakes!!

    Thanks for stopping by Zoup to Nuts, as well. I really appreciate the comment. Hang in there with your rainy, Vancouver weather. Would ship out some of our sunshine, if I could. 🙂

Leave a Reply

