The everything oatmeal cookie

If you have been following this blog for a while, you may have gotten the sense that I don’t like to waste food.  It pains me to discard fruits and veggies that spoil before I get a chance to eat or cook them.  And I don’t like dumping leftovers unless it’s gone bad from being in the fridge for too long.  I think I got this aversion to wasting food from my parents, who I believe also gave me the frugality gene.  This gene causes me, for the most part, to plan our meals around what meats and produce are on sale at the grocery store, rather than what we feel like eating.  This does not mean that we eat poorly since most unhealthy foods are inexpensive.  It just means that given a choice between chicken breast that’s on sale or pork loin at regular price, I will choose the chicken…until next week when the pork goes on sale.

In order to not waste food and get tired of eating the same thing, I try to make different dishes with the same ingredients.  For example, last week we bought two large bunches of kale, from which I made kale chips and kale salad with avocado and cashews.  We also put some on top of a pepperoni pizza, which turned out surprisingly delicious.

This brings us to what I made this weekend – the everything oatmeal cookie aka everything in the cupboard oatmeal cookie.    I used the ingredients leftover from making blueberry and banana muffins, carrot cake and cupcakes to make these oatmeal cookies.

I know these cookies aren’t the most attractive of subjects to photograph, but they are pretty damn darn good according to David and possibly better than the Dad’s oatmeal cookies that he loves so much.  Shhh….don’t tell him that it was partly made with whole wheat flour and has less sugar than the recipe calls for.  😉

They are packed with stuff as you can see.  A bit crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside, they go well with a glass of milk or so my sister says.  Since I don’t drink milk, I substituted with a glass of soy milk instead.

If you ask me, the best part of these cookies, aside from being full of goodness, is that I had everything I needed to make them in my cupboards.  🙂

Recipe (adapted from JoyofBaking.com):

Makes about 18 large cookies.

  • 1/2 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped
  • 1/2 cup pecans, toasted and chopped
  • 3/4 cup (170 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup (210 grams) packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup (105 grams) flour (half all purpose, half whole wheat)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3 cups (260 grams) old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup dried currants
  • 1/8 cup chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (177 degrees C).
  2. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  3. To toast nuts: Place nuts on a baking sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned and fragrant. Let cool and then chop into pieces.
  4. In the bowl of your electric mixer (or with a hand mixer), beat the butter and sugar on medium until creamy and smooth (about 2-3 minutes).
  5. Add the egg and vanilla extract and beat to combine.
  6. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, and ground cinnamon.
  7. Add the flour mixture to the creamed mixture and beat until incorporated.
  8. Change to flat beater, stir in the nuts, oats, dried currants and chocolate chips on low.
  9. For large cookies, use 1/4 cup of batter (use an ice cream scoop) and space the cookies about 2 inches (5 cm) apart on the baking sheet.
  10. Wet hand and flatten the cookies slightly with fingers so they are about 1/2 inch (1.25 cm) thick.
  11. Bake the cookies for about 12-15 minutes or until light golden brown around the edges but still soft and a little wet in the centers.
  12. Remove from oven and let the cookies cool a few minutes on the baking sheet before transferring them to a wire rack to cool.
37 thoughts on “The everything oatmeal cookie

      • Hmmm….well, we save pretty much everything! Leftovers from dinner either get packed for lunch later in the week, or they get re-purposed into the next night’s meal (leftover veggies become soup, leftover soup becomes pasta sauce, that kind of thing). Bones and veggie scraps go in stock. And we pay very close attention to what’s on the verge of turning bad so things don’t rot in the fridge. It’s like a game! 🙂

  1. They may not be the best to photograph I understand your pain as I tired to take some shots of granola bars I made and struggled – it’s hard to keep thinking of ideas! I think you did a very good job as they do look very appealing and I am on a bit of an oat kick at present so another recipe is good before I swap to something else!

      • I made gronola & granola bars. I think the best thing to do with staging is to hunt car boot sales and charity shops – but wish I had the time to actually do this though!

Leave a Reply

