The Versatile Blogger

Over a month ago, I was nominated by Ten Things I Like for the Versatile Blogger Award.  I was overjoyed, but sat on this until today.  The reason being I was nominated again recently by Rational Absurdity.  I figured it was about time I do something about it.  Terrible, I know.  Almost as bad as me being able to respond to comments in a timely manner (within two weeks).  First of all, I would like to thank both Ten Things I Like and Rational Absurdity for the nominations.  Your blogs are unique and awesome and I am just honoured to be in your presence!  I take a lot of pride (something I haven’t felt in a long time with my paying job) in my posts, so it gives me great joy when others read, “like” and make comments.  My blogging experience in the last year has been nothing but positive.  There are so many creative and talented people out there.  Gosh, it’s like I just won an Oscar.  🙂

So, here’s how the Versatile Blogger Award works:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Add the Versatile Blog Award logo on your blog post.
  • Nominate 7-15 fellow bloggers.
  • Inform the bloggers of their nomination.
  • Share 7 random things about yourself.

The blogs I follow and frequent are of the lighthearted variety, yet inspiring.  I drool over posts about delicious foods, daydream about far away places I’ve never been and imagine what I could do to decorate my future home.  I’ve learned so much from other blogs, like kale chips are good (who knew?), there is a day for everything (World Nutella Day, Pancake Day or Shrove Tuesday, National Dog Biscuit Day, etc) and you can make beautiful things out of nothing (wreath from newspaper, jewelry holder from tree branches).  Sometime between my first nomination and the second, the rules changed from nominating 15 fellow bloggers to 7.  I’m going to break the rules and nominate 10.

  1. The Incuisition
  2. Spread Your Love
  3. santiagonorth
  4. temporarilylostdotcom
  5. Lost and Fawned
  6. The Middlest Sister
  7. While Chasing Kids
  8. Pure Complex
  9. Thing-a-Day 2012
  10. the finish

7 random things about me:

  1. I am known to be shy, quiet, timid, reserved and very private.  So private that I never really kept a journal, until I started blogging.  So it is a bit of a step for me to share my life with the world.  Even though most of the time I am posting about buttercream frosting and cupcakes, I am putting a tiny part of myself out there each time.
  2. I don’t eat cereal with milk.  That’s right.  How do I eat cereal then you may ask?  Easy – add cereal to bowl, use spoon to scoop cereal to mouth and chew.  It’s that simple!  I have never liked the taste of milk, not on its own anyway.  I can have it when disguised in coffee, milkshake or ice cream.  But on its own – no way!  The milk to cereal ratio is simply too high and there is just no way to mask it.  One good thing about this quirk of mine, according to my sister, is that I never have the milk and cereal problem: having leftover milk after eating all the cereal and having to add more cereal.
  3. I cannot ride a bike.  Bikes and I are like oil and water.  We simply do not mix.  Growing up, I was more of a homebody.  I was not a fearless child and did not roam the neighbourhood on my bike.  The few (handful) experiences I had with bicycles involved running into bushes and walls, which did not help with the fear thing.  Now as an even less fearless adult, if I must get on a bike, it has to be a tandem one.
  4. I am a pessimist or for a better word, a realist.  The glass is always half empty.  I do not go through life with rose-tinted glasses.  I know I will have to work long and hard to get everything I want because I will never win the lottery, though I would probably have a slightly better chance if I bought a ticket.
  5. I do not take sandwiches to work.  Let me rephrase, I do not take pre-made sandwiches to work.  I don’t like the fact that by the time I eat it, the bread is soggy and sticks to the roof of my mouth.  This reminds me of another reason why I don’t like milk with cereal – soggy cereal.  But I digress.  So, I bring each component of the sandwich individually to work and assemble just before eating.  And I also prefer my bread toasted.
  6. I only drive on highways.  Why?  Because for the most part, I only have to go straight.  I do not multitask well, especially while maneuvering a large machine.  How is one supposed to shoulder check while keeping an eye on where they are going?  And how do you avoid hitting cars and pedestrians while turning left?  Ironically, my dad was a driving instructor when I was growing up.  You have been warned – drive with caution if you see me on the roads!
  7. I am ESL and a self-diagnosed dyslexic.  I disliked English class and it was possibly my worst subject in school.  I would much rather take physics or calculus III.  With that said, I apologize if sometimes you find incoherent sentences in my posts.

And there you have it.  Thank-you for your continued visits and support!

13 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger

  1. I really enjoyed learning a lot about you :). And I must say Congrats on winning this awards.. you definitely deserve it. I also wanted to thank you for nominating me for this award. I am so humbled.. thank you again 🙂

  2. Pingback: The everything oatmeal cookie « trials in food

Leave a Reply

