Blueberry banana oat muffins

The making of these muffins was speared by the need to use up some ripe bananas and blueberries. Bananas are a staple in our household. It’s one of the fruits that both David and I eat. But there are too many other fruits in the house to eat. My parents gave us oranges and apples that they couldn’t eat before they left for their month long trip. David’s buddy gave us a box of ginormous Fuji apples for New Year and we have Mandarin oranges for Chinese New Year. So, the bananas ripened before I could eat them, which is when you’re supposed to eat them, right? Wrong. I like my bananas a bit on the green side, when they are not mushy (weird, I know). David was no help since he’s not a big fruit eater. He didn’t even eat a single one of the blueberries he bought over a week ago; hence, the muffins.

I’m no nutritionist, but I think these muffins are on the healthy side. They’re loaded with fruit and oats and made with whole wheat flour. There’s also no butter and only a small amount of cooking spray was used to grease the muffin tins.

Now, I know that you are probably thinking that because these muffins are loaded with good stuff that they probably don’t taste very good. On the contrary, they are moist and sweet, but not overly so. The batter smelled and looked so good that I was tempted to eat it without baking. These muffins make the perfect breakfast food to give you that boost in the morning.

Happy Friday!

Recipe (adapted from The Sweets Life):

makes about 9 muffins

  • 2 eggs
  • 4 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt (I use non-fat)
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 tbsp wheat bran
  • heaping 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups blueberries
  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine eggs, bananas, and yogurt.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine flour, oats, wheat bran, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.
  4. Add dry ingredients to the wet, lightly mixing until just combined and still slightly lumpy.
  5. Stir in blueberries.
  6. Line muffin tins with paper liners or grease with cooking spray.
  7. Fill cups 2/3 of the way full.
  8. Bake for 15-17 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.
27 thoughts on “Blueberry banana oat muffins

  1. Oh! Oh oh oh! I was thinking about what kind of homemade snack I need to make this weekend so I won’t go hungry at school next week (or, more likely, be tempted to buy something at the cafe). This is perfect. I have some bananas and blueberries in the freezer!

    Thanks!

  2. Those look delicious – whenever I make blueberry muffins, I add lemon zest to the batter – it really gives it a nice citrus kick. 😀

    And for the record, I only use Fuji apples to make apple pie – they are always sweet and still hold their shape during baking.

  3. Wow, this looks amazing! Glad to have found your blog, I am always looking for new ideas of things to try. I am still very much a novice in the kitchen, looking forward to following your posts! 🙂

  4. Pingback: The everything oatmeal cookie « trials in food

  5. Pingback: Easy as banana cream pie | trials in food

Leave a Reply

