Banana nut muffins

I made these muffins for our camping trip a while back and they were a hit.  I say they were a hit because they were all eaten up by my companions on the trip.  But then again, they were a captive audience and had limited options.

I like to think they were delicious.  They sure made for an excellent breakfast and snack for our hikes.

I don’t know if I would call them muffins though.  The muffins I’m used to are more dense and dry.  These were light and moist and a bit on the sweet side.

Come to think of it, the recipe is very much like the one for banana loaf I posted previously.  So, I would say these were more like banana loaf or even cupcakes.

Recipe (from Simply Recipes):

Makes 12 muffins.

  • 3 or 4 ripe bananas, smashed
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp espresso or strong coffee (optional)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cup of flour
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts (toasted or raw)

*No need for a mixer with this recipe.

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Mix in the sugar, egg, espresso and vanilla.
  3. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in.
  4. Add the flour, mix until it is just incorporated. Fold in the chopped walnuts.
  5. Pour mixture into a prepared muffin tin.
  6. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Check for doneness with a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin. If it comes out clean, it’s done.
  7. Cool on a rack.

Notes and Tips:

I added 1/4 cup wheat bran to make them more healthy.  My non-discerning palate couldn’t taste the tbsp of coffee, so you can probably do without.

4 thoughts on “Banana nut muffins

  1. I just made & they rock!! Im going to see how a couple of them holdup in the freezer. They would be awesome for a quick breakfast or snack.

Leave a Reply

