World of cupcakes

The last time I made cupcakes I had leftover buttercream frosting, which I couldn’t let go to waste.  So naturally, I made more cupcakes.  I was looking for a simple recipe for vanilla cupcakes and discovered a whole world of cupcakes I never knew existed.  I was amazed to find hundreds of sites devoted to cupcakes and thousands of recipes. I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised at the large cupcake following.  I mean, who doesn’t love them?

There is every imaginable flavour you can think of  (cherry, lemon cranberry, lime) and some you wouldn’t think of (sweet potato, bacon toffee chocolate, wasabi white chocolate).  Forget the boring vanilla cupcakes!  I decided to make coffee ones instead.  I know, I know, coffee flavoured cupcakes aren’t so out of the norm, but I wanted to make something I would actually eat.  Plus coffee is one of my loves.  =)

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The cupcakes turned out well.  They definitely have a distinct milky coffee flavour, much like a latte or cappuccino.  And they go so well with the buttercream frosting!  The cupcakes were not as moist as the Devil’s Food Cupcakes that I love so much, but they were still quite good!  Hmm….I feel an experiment brewing.  How can I combine my loves (coffee, Devil’s Food cupcakes and buttercream)?

The cupcake following just got a little bigger…..

Recipe (from Cupcake Bakeshop):

  • 3/4 cup (1-1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1-1/2 cups sugar
  • 3 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 cups + 1 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp dark roast coffee grounds
  • 1/2 cup strong brewed, dark roast coffee
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp milk
  1. Beat butter on high until soft, ~30 seconds.
  2. Add sugar.  Beat on medium-high until light and fluffy, ~3 minutes.
  3. Add eggs one at a time, beating until incorporated.
  4. Whisk together flour, baking powder, salt and coffee grounds in a bowl.
  5. Measure out coffee and milk together.
  6. Add about a fourth of the flour to the butter/sugar mixture and beat to combine.
  7. Add about one third the coffee/milk mixture and beat until combined.
  8. Repeat above, alternating flour and coffee and ending with the flour mixture.
  9. Scoop into cupcake papers about 2/3 to 3/4 full (depending on whether you want flat or domed cupcakes.  Note that these cupcakes will shrink slightly when they cool).
  10. Bake for 22-25 minutes at 350°F until a cake tester comes out clean.

Tip:  Be careful when adding the coffee/milk mixture to the batter.  If you add it too quickly the mixture will look curdled.  Add small amounts and beat well to incorporate.

Notes and Tips:

I divided all the ingredients by 3 and ended up with 7 cupcakes.  As usual, I used the 2% milk that was in the fridge and a whisk or spatula for all the mixing.

7 thoughts on “World of cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Coffee Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting « Cute Cupcakes Blog

  2. Pingback: Coffee Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting — Cupcake Pictures

  3. Pingback: Coffee Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting | Cupcake Ideas, Cupcake Recipes, Cupcake Pictures

  4. Pingback: Coffee Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting | The art of cupcake

Leave a Reply

