Meet my new love

Buttercream.  I came across this recipe while reading another blog.  They made so-so red velvet cupcakes and topped it with this frosting, which was supposed to be very good.  I decided to try it, but with the Devil’s food cupcakes, which I know is moist, yummy and oh so good!  Why fix what isn’t broken?

The frosting did not disappoint!  It was creamy and buttery, but not too sweet.  It smelled so good!  I recommend this buttercream frosting for every occasion (Mother’s day, birthdays, etc.) or just on any old day when you feel like it!

P.S. If you don’t have an electric mixer and instead ask your husband to do it by hand, make sure he doesn’t overdo it and break your whisk! =)  Maybe it’s time to invest in a electric hand mixer…..

Recipe  (from Piping Dreams):

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter, soft but cool, cut into small pieces
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  1. In a medium heavy-bottomed saucepan, whisk the sugar and flour together.
  2. Add the milk and cream and cook over medium heat, whisking occasionally, until the mixture comes to a boil and has thickened, ~20 minutes.  It may take longer than 20 minutes to become really thick.
  3. Transfer the mixture to the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment.
  4. Beat on high speed until cool.  It can be cooled in the fridge for a bit too.
  5. Reduce the speed to low and add the butter; beat until thoroughly incorporated.
  6. Increase the speed to medium-high and beat until the frosting is light and fluffy.
  7. Add the vanilla and continue mixing until combined.
  8. If the frosting is too soft, transfer the bowl to the refrigerator to chill slightly, then beat again until it is the proper consistency.  If the frosting is too firm, place the bowl over a pot of simmering water and beat with a wooden spoon until it is the proper consistency.

Notes and Tips:

I used whatever we normally have in the fridge, which is skim or 2% milk.  I find you have to mix quite a bit while thickening the sugar/flour/milk/cream mixture in order to not have any clumps.

22 thoughts on “Meet my new love

  1. yvonne, these look incredible-edible! i just had a red velvet from magnolia last night and the cake was def less than awesome; devil food cake on the bottom of some of that buttercream sounds fantasticmmmmmmmmmmmm

  2. when i was pregnant, all i craved where cupcakes. big or small, i had to have them. bad.
    i honestly felt like a crack head LOL… the thought of a delicious cupcake would turn me into a raging animal…

    that was 4 yrs ago.. the feeling hasnt really left.. but i have to control myself as Im not eating for two anymore. LOL..

    this post has now sent me over the edge. MUST HAVE CUPCAKES

  3. Pingback: World of cupcakes | trials in food

  4. umm .. So I didn’t follow the recipe exactly but I think I came pretty close to what you made! I accidentally added my sugar to the butter first without reading .. and it still turned out okay!

  5. Pingback: For you, my friend « trials in food

  6. Pingback: Looking back, looking foward « trials in food

  7. Oooh, buttercream frosting without powdered sugar! What an interesting recipe. Might have to try this for the wedding cake I’m making this summer. Thanks for visiting my blog to tell me about it!

Leave a Reply

