Home cooking

What I look forward to every couple of weeks  is going home for dinner.

Sidebar:  Isn’t it funny how I’m all grown up with a family and home of my own and I still refer to my parents’ house as “home”?  It wasn’t until a few months ago when we got a house line that I changed the contact name of my parents’ home phone from “home” to “parents”.

Let me rephrase.  What I look forward to every couple of weeks is my mom’s home cooking.  She is no Michelin-starred chef and her cooking isn’t fancy, just simple and delicious.  It’s what I know and grew up with.  It goes without saying that mom’s cooking is always the best.  Best of all, I don’t have to cook.  And if I’m lucky, she’ll pack some up for us to take home.

This past weekend, she made phở (Vietnamese noodle soup) with all the fixings – beef steak and flank and chicken balls, topped with onion, cilantro and basil.

Delicious Phở!

Leave a Reply

