Elbows deep in chocolate

Making chocolate the last few weeks hasn’t been all smooth sailing.  There’s been some chocolate mishaps and some chocolate with bad temper along the way.  Once, I tried using milk chocolate to make the ganache because my husband prefers it over dark chocolate, but it ended up being too soft to work with even after chilling in the fridge.  They wouldn’t keep their shapes when I tried to coat them.  The hearts would turn out crooked and the balls would turn into ovals.  Well, you get the picture.  So, I was in search of recipes where I could use the milk chocolate ganache that I had already prepared.  I have a few criteria for new recipes I try: 1) do I have everything I need, 2) are the ingredients difficult to find, 3) will I ever use these ingredients again, 4) is the recipe difficult and 5) how long does it take to make/cook? On most occasions, the first criteria is the deciding factor and if I don’t have everything I need, do I have something that I can use as a substitute? Now, back to the task at hand.  I googled for recipes that contained chocolate ganache and the search came up with a lot of recipes for ganache to be used as a filling or a glaze on a cake.  I was not about to make a whole cake just to use up some ganache!  On top of that, I’m not ready to make a cake just yet!  What did come up in my search was a few recipes for molten chocolate lava cake.  Have you ever ordered them at a restaurant and wondered “how do they do that”?  Well, the most common way is to undercook the batter so that the inside stays liquid.  A less common and quite ingenious way in my opinion is to use ganache in the centre.  I found a recipe on veg junction that was perfect – it was easy and I had all the ingredients in my cupboards.  And voila!

Yummy molten chocolate lava cake with ganache centre!

Mmmmm……chocolate.

Recipe (adapted from veg junction):

  • 113g semi-sweet baking chocolate
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • butter for greasing the moulds
  1. Melt chocolate, in a double boiler or as described in the chocolate-making post.
  2. Beat the eggs and sugar together in another bowl till light and fluffy.  All the mixing in this recipe can be done by hand with a whisk.
  3. Remove chocolate from heat once melted, add the butter and whisk till the butter is melted.  It helps to speed up the process if the butter is cut up into smaller pieces.
  4. Add the egg-sugar mix and whisk thoroughly.
  5. Add flour and mix.
  6. Grease 3 ramekins and fill each half full with the batter, takes ~3 tbsp.
  7. Place a ganache (see chocolate-making post for recipe) at the centre and cover with the rest of the batter.
  8. Bake at 180°C for 15-18 minutes.
  9. Let cool.
  10. Invert onto serving plate.
  11. Eat!

Notes and Tips:

I’ve found that you can substitute the sugar with brown sugar.  You can also use dark chocolate instead of semi-sweet baking chocolate.  The ganache can be put in the freezer during preparation of the batter to ensure that it keeps its shape and doesn’t bake when in the oven.  I’ve tried using dark chocolate for both the ganache and the cake, but found that to be a bit overpowering and a bit bitter.

2 thoughts on “Elbows deep in chocolate

Leave a Reply

