In a funk blueberry muffins

It’s been a few weeks since my last post.  You see I’ve been a bit preoccupied with…

preparing for an external audit at work…

and training for my first 10k run.

There was a sudden death in the family.

And I just got back from my sister in-law’s graduation at Princeton followed by a side trip to NYC.

You can say I’ve been a little busy.

But now that all that’s over, I feel as though I’m in a bit of a funk.

Maybe it’s the dreary weather we are having in the middle of June.

Maybe it’s the lack of trips planned for the rest of the year and foreseeable future.  El Salvador with Habitat has come and gone.  Yes, I still owe you a post about that trip.

There are no runs to prepare for…no motivation to get off the couch…nothing in the works to look forward to.

 And as for this blog, I’ve been feeling uninspired as of late.

Maybe these bakery/coffee shop style blueberry muffins will help my mood.

They certainly won’t help my waistline…

…they are that good.

Would these muffins get you out of a funk?

What do you do to defunk?

Recipe (adapted from allrecipes.com):

makes 6 muffins

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup white sugar (I used brown)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk (I used skim)
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries (I used 1.5 cups)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar (I used brown)
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup butter, cubed
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F (200°C). Grease muffin cups or line with muffin liners.
  2. Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 3/4 cup sugar, salt and baking powder.
  3. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup. Mix this with flour mixture. Don’t over mix.
  4. Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups right to the top, and sprinkle with crumb topping mixture.
  5. To Make Crumb Topping*: Mix together 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup butter, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Mix with fork, and sprinkle over muffins before baking.
  6. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until done.**

*I halved the amounts for the crumb topping and added 1.5 tsp to each muffin.

**I baked at 350°F for 15 min, then 400°F for 15min.  This is supposed to help give the muffins the crowned shape, which didn’t really seem to work for me.

31 thoughts on “In a funk blueberry muffins

  1. They look pretty tasty, I’ll have to give them a try. As for your funk, i’m sure you’ll break out of it; sometimes it just takes something small to happen during rough, busy times to help you snap back.

  2. Hope the muffins did their job. I’m sorry to hear you are down. Remember to be good to yourself, even with all your busy-ness. We can be so hard on ourselves.

    Beautiful muffins. I would never cut down on the topping. :) in fact, I might make more of it! But I love crumb toppings. Sometimes I’ll cut my muffins in half crosswise and save the yummy top for last. And when I eat crisps and cobblers, I eat some of the fruit filling first so I get a higher ratio of topping to filling for the rest of my dessert. Such a love is certainly not good for the waistline!

  3. Went blueberry and blackberry picking last week and found your post on Tastespotting.

    Made recipe this morning in my muffin top pan…it made six perfect “tops” (I used half the topping like you did) and they came out perfectly. Hubby thought I should have baked them longer but I thought they were just right :-) Thanks for sharing your recipe….

    • thanks for trying the recipe! i’m glad you and your hubby liked it. :) isn’t berry picking fun? i went for the first time this year to pick strawberries and really enjoyed it. blueberries are almost in season here…might have to do some more picking. :)

  4. Yvonne, I really liked this post. Being in a funk now and then seems to be a part of the creative experience. (I have my “days,” too!) You also pointed out that external factors — even weather — can have a bearing on our demeanor. I don’t expect to be creative 24/7, but when a funk descends upon me, I enjoy the downtime for what it is… a chance to absorb the wonder of it all. And the wonder of these muffins. :)

Leave a Reply

