An avocado treat

When I first came across this recipe, I pinned it (naturally).  Then I showed David a picture of it and asked if he would like to eat it.  He was interested and said yes, until I told him what it was: chocolate banana avocado pudding.  It was obviously the avocado that turned him off.  His idea of pudding is the store bought Jell-O kind, which definitely does not contain any avocado.

I have to admit, until recently, I would’ve never thought to make pudding with avocado either.  In fact, I’ve only had limited experience with avocados.  Most of the time these experiences were at restaurants and the avocados were in the form of guacamole or served on a salad.  The main deterrent that prevented me from buying avocados was that I didn’t know how to pick them.  The one or two times that I did buy them, I was so disappointed when I cut them open and found that they were far from being ripe and not very good. But all that has now changed with a simple google search on how to tell if an avocado is ripe (when it yields to gentle pressure).  Oh who knew the internet could be so full of useful, life-changing information?  ;)  Anyhoo, now I routinely buy avocados (usually when they’re on sale) for salads, smoothies and this pudding.

The first time I made this pudding I did it in secret and gave it to David for dessert.  He took one bite and gave me the “you can’t fool me, I know there’s avocado in this” look.  I was worried I would have to finish his pudding, but he ate it all up, even though he’s slightly allergic to avocados.  He really enjoyed it, but how could he not?  This pudding is rich, smooth, creamy and of course chocolaty albeit not necessarily so appealing to look at.  It’s a quick and easy dessert to make and so versatile; add as much or as little chocolate/cocoa powder, avocado and banana as you like.  I’ve even added some brewed coffee to it and eaten it for breakfast before going out for an early morning jog.  ;)

I hope you like this hubby tested and approved recipe! ;)

Recipe (adapted from edible perspective):

makes 2 servings

  • 1 avocado
  • 1 banana
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder + 2 tbsp melted dark chocolate (or 4 tbsp of either one)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 3 tbsp brewed coffee (optional)
  • toasted nuts such as hazelnuts
  1. Blend/mix together diced banana and avocado until smooth.
  2. Add cocoa powder/chocolate, vanilla extract, cinnamon, honey, coffee (if using) and mix until incorporated.
  3. Add more cocoa powder/chocolate and honey to taste.
  4. Top with some toasted chopped nuts.
69 thoughts on “An avocado treat

  1. it looks so yummy! reminds me of recipes like black bean brownies. also reminds me of how my mom likes to make her chili with soy “faux meat” and then tell my dad it’s ground turkey ;)

  2. I love this.. and had to do a double “read” when it said your hubby is allergic to avocado.. and he’s still eating this! Now that’s love! It looks so creamy, I’d like to make it as well… and I love your little cups! Adorable!

    • are you referring to his love for me or food? i think his love for food trumps the little tingly feeling he gets on the roof of his mouth when he eats avocados. ;) the cups were a wedding gift purchased from my favourite coffee joint. :)

  3. ohhhh i will try this! :) i’ve been used to drinking avocado smoothies (with milk & shredded ice) and it’s soooo yummy. or i just eat it straight out with condensed milk (of course i make it cold too!). hehe this is a must try for me ^_^

  4. Hmm. I’m not the hugest avocado person (unless you put it in sushi!) but you may be convincing me with this recipe…

      • At a restaurant once I had this amazing chocolate cake once with a little cayenne in it, and it was topped with avocado ice cream. Delish!

        Avocado milkshakes are super good, too–avocado + vanilla ice cream + milk + a bit of honey.

        Or, make Ethiopian spriss with layers of sweetened pureed avocado, mango, and other fruits. Mmm.

  5. Oooh, this sounds so interesting! I’ve seen quite a few avocado chocolate pudding recipes around Blog World, but none of them have included bananas – great idea! I love the idea of a healthy chocolate pudding. :)

  6. Ha! I was just going to say the exact same thing as the last person: “Oooh, this sounds so interesting!”
    And it really does. I bet it’s very yummy!

  7. okay this recipe drew me in – i LOVE avocados! Actually, I made a recipe similar to this tonight but it didn’t have the bananas or toasted nuts and those just sound like delicious additions, I’ll have to try it out next time!

Leave a Reply

