Jalapeño cheddar muffins

One of our favourite local coffee joints is JJ Bean.  They have awesome (strong) coffee and their baked goods aren’t half bad either.  The staples of chocolate chip pecan cookies and cheddar chive scones are always good, but our latest favourite is their jalapeño cheese muffins.  I would have never thought that jalapeños and cheddar would make good ingredients for a muffin.  I’ve always thought muffins to be of the fruity and sweet sort, not savoury.  That being said, these muffins from JJ Bean are full of cheesy, spicy goodness!  I had to try to make it at home myself.

The recipe I used was obviously not the same as the one JJ Bean uses to make their muffins.  My muffins were more like a scone or biscuit.  They were not as cheesy or spicy, but they were still good.  We ate it all up!

Does anyone out there have a good recipe for jalapeño cheddar muffins or suggestions on how to improve this one?

Recipe (adapted from Food.com):

makes 6

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tbsp white sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 tbsp finely minced onions
  • 1/2 cup yoghurt or 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/8 cup melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tbsp finely chopped jalapeno peppers
  1. In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar and salt. Add cheese and onion and mix with a fork.
  2. Whisk yoghurt, melted butter, eggs and jalapeno together. Add to dry ingredients. Stir until evenly moistened.
  3. Bake in lined muffin cups at 400 F for 15 minute.
  4. Eat on its own or with cream cheese.

Notes and Tips:

I used 1.5 cups cheddar cheese, 4 tbsp jalapeños and light sour cream.  Based on other reviews, I added 1/8 cup milk (skim) along with the other wet ingredients so that the dough wouldn’t be as dry.  I didn’t have muffin tin liners, so I just greased the muffin tin lightly with butter.  I ended up with 5 muffins instead of 6.

27 thoughts on “Jalapeño cheddar muffins

  1. I frequent a place called Marlin and Rays, and they recently started serving Jalapeno Muffins and I love them. I may have to experiment and see what I can come up with for this mini delight. Yours look very good.

  2. Pingback: Kitchen Challenge: Jalepeño Cheddar Muffins – Jan 24 «

  3. Love savoury muffins… made some spring onion, double cheddar and bacon muffins a while back. I love that you’ve added the yoghurt into these. And they look really nice too.

  4. These look really good. Like Lindsay up above, I make cornbread with cheddar and jalapenos, so that makes me wonder if you did half all purpose flour and half cornmeal, if it would make a fun alternative. You said they weren’t too spicy – did you include the seeds from the jalapenos? If not, that might be worth a try – the seeds are supposed to be the hottest part. Another thing I do to up the spiciness when using jalapenos is to add some of the liquid from the jar to my recipe (if it can handle the liquid). It sounds like this recipe could handle a few tbsp of jalapeno liquid. (Jalapeno jar liquid = a poor man’s Tabasco sauce.) :) Thanks for visiting my blog! Yours is great!!

  5. Pingback: Jalapeño Cheese Muffins (Again) « Food Safari

Leave a Reply

