Week of desserts

We had A LOT of dessert this week.  It started with the cherry cupcakes I made for my sister.  I know I made them for her, but I had to save some for myself.  :)  Then there were the desserts my mom made: tang yuan (glutinous rice flour balls filled with yellow bean paste in a sweet broth) and jien duy or sesame balls (rice balls filled with yellow bean paste, rolled in sesame and then deep-fried).  Sorry, there’s no pictures – we devoured them almost instantly!  This is what they look like:

After all that you would figure that we’d had enough dessert for a while.  Wrong!  We I can never have too much dessert!  Plus I still had leftover cherries from the can I used to make cupcakes.

I couldn’t let it go to waste, but I didn’t have enough to make a cake or a pie.  So, I made cherry cobbler for two instead.

I am a bit embarrassed to say that we ate it before dinner, fresh out of the oven.  It just looked so good, with the cherries oozing out from under the pastry.

Oh I can feel the holiday weight gain coming on….so worth it though!

Recipe (adapted from Jo Cooks):

Cherry filling

  • 2 cups of pitted cherries
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • dash of salt (I use 1/4 tsp)

Dough

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • dash of salt (1/4 tsp)
  • 1/2 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1/4 cup milk
  1. Preheat oven to 400 F degrees.
  2. Pit the cherries and wash them. Add the 2 tbsp of sugar, lemon juice and a dash of salt to the cherries and mix well. Set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl add the remaining ingredients and mix well with a fork. Dough will be crumbly.
  4. Butter two ramekins (4″ in diameter). Pour half the cherries in each. Add the crumbled dough on top of the cherries.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes or until the top is golden.

Notes and Tips:

I had half the amount of cherries so I halved the rest of the ingredients for the filling.  I used 3/4 of the dough for 2 ramekins, but I still think that’s too much.  The pastry was actually quite thick in my opinion.

5 thoughts on “Week of desserts

  1. great week in food! hehe. my fave are those glutinous rice balls soup! how did you make make the soup part?? I love doing just sugar and minced ginger… sweet and gingery :)

  2. These deserts look amazing. My problem is I am about effective in the kitchen as a vegan cat in a barn filled with mice. That being said, I do hope interest those that I do know in preparing these. Obviously I will need to taste test.

    Great post.

Leave a Reply

